Absolute Abundance

I’ve been thinking a lot about this idea of scarcity.

Months ago, I was chatting with a biodynamic farmer in my community and he was saying how we are inundated with messages of scarcity, but that he lives in a world of absolute abundance. I marveled at his perspective and it’s stayed with me as I try and reframe my own thoughts on finances and the relativity of “having enough”.

Part of why I loved what he said is that it contrasts with the narrative that you don’t make any money farming. It’s, unarguably, very difficult to earn a living farming. I think of “doing well” financially on a farm as breaking even, paying yourself just enough to cover your modest living expenses, forgetting health insurance and savings and any sort of retirement plan. So, hearing such a radical perspective from a farmer who makes his entire living on a farm gave me pause.

I think the heart of it is challenging and expanding the definition of abundance from one of financial viability to one that accounts for the health and growth and life on a farm, which is undeniably abundant! The choice he’s made to view his life and his surroundings in this way struck me as such a brave and authentic choice. It’s trusting in the gifts of nature and being grateful for its generosity.

It’s a constant struggle for me to choose not to accept the default messages of anxiety and fear, but to make a deliberate choice to reframe my perspective. (It just occurred to me that fear and anxiety around “not enough” are kind of like the national security code orange, which never goes away, invoking a constant state of alert.)

Here’s a good example of how pervasive feelings of scarcity can be:

I have just become debt free for the first time in nine years. The debt was from graduate school and it was in the six figures. Having chosen careers that are not exactly lucrative, it’s been a considerable burden to have those high payments looming monthly with such variable income. Making that final payment should have felt like a ton of bricks off of my shoulders, but instead of worrying about my debt, I now worry about not having any savings, retirement, health insurance, equity…the list can go on. And yet I am in good health, I have an education, I have a loving family and a supportive community; so while I don’t have the securities that we’re told we need (in the form of a 401K, comprehensive health coverage, X dollars in a savings account for emergencies), I can say for certain that I won’t end up homeless or go hungry.

Choosing to see the abundance in my life rather than focusing on not having enough is still something I have to work on. Especially as I try and figure out how to make a life farming and wanting a family and knowing that health insurance is important. But it seems to me that practicing gratitude is a good antidote to scarcity.

3 thoughts on “Absolute Abundance

  1. Hello, I have read your post. Indeed, I think this is sometimes out of our hands to understand how lucky we are, if we can say so. I have done an article on water scarcity and the conflict it could engage over the next decade, and I must say, I have been astonished by the amount a Western person consumes each year!

    There is a water consumption calculator at the bottom of the page.
    https://impossibleisnotfrench.wordpress.com

    I’d like to have your thoughts about it!

    Thanks,

    Mathilde

    • Thank you for your comment, Mathilde. I definitely agree that water is likely to be a source of conflict. I’d argue it already is as famine causes displacement, which often results in destabilizing areas, and scarcity of natural resources causes conflict (such as in Darfur). By no means do I equate a perspective of abundance with an excuse to be wasteful. We are each responsible for our choices in how much we consume of any natural resource. I hope that the more we are aware of the abundance we have, we will be more mindful of its gift.

Leave a Reply

